APWA president Bob Freudenthal, deputy general manager of the Hendersonville Utility District, Hendersonville, Tenn., presents Rep. James L. Oberstar, right, with the association's 2005 Distinguished Service Award. Photo: APWA

The American Public Works Association (APWA) presented Rep. James L. Oberstar (D-Minn.) with its 2005 Distinguished Service Award.

During nearly 30 years of service in the House of Representatives, Oberstar has advocated investment in transportation and water resources infrastructure. Senior Democrat on the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee since 1995, he has demonstrated a long record of legislative accomplishments on behalf of public works. Notably, the representative was a key architect of the recently enacted surface transportation bill, SAFETEA-LU, and its predecessor, TEA-21.

“Congressman Oberstar's contributions and achievements on behalf of public infrastructure have been substantial, far-reaching, positive, and visionary for Minnesota and the United States,” said Thomas Colbert, Minnesota chapter president and director of public works in Eagan. “As a chapter, we are pleased he is being recognized with this award and are proud to have worked closely with him on public works improvements.”

Established in 1972, APWA's Distinguished Service Award recognizes a prominent government or national leader for his or her far-reaching, positive impact on public works programs, services, or policies through distinguished public service and commitment. The award particularly recognizes national leadership in furthering the mission and goals of APWA.

For more information, visit