Salt Lake County's John Whittaker was the only public-sector employee among 27 men and women honored at North America's largest solid waste and recycling tradeshow. He was named a Driver of the Year by the Environmental Industry Associations, which include the National Solid Wastes Management Association and Waste Equipment Technology Association. He's employed by public works' sanitation division: the garbage and recycling collector for Salt Lake County Special Service District No. 1, which serves unincorporated Salt Lake County, Herriman, Taylorsville, Holladay, Cottonwood Heights, and parts of Murray.