States with OSHA-Approved State Plans have six months to adopt standards that are at least as effective as OSHA’s. States also have the option of having the same enforcement phase-in plan that OSHA has adopted.

States Plans that cover both public and private workplaces: Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wyoming.

OSHA rules also permit states to develop plans that cover state and local government workers only. States that have such plans: Connecticut, Illinois, Maine, New Jersey, and New York.