Editor's Note: Four individuals will be named Public Works Leadership Fellows at the American Public Works Association’s annual convention in August. Click here for our APWA Preshow Planner.

KANSAS CITY, MO. – The American Public Works Association (APWA) announced today that a group of national Public Works Leadership Fellows has recently been awarded the Public Works Leadership Fellow (PWLF) credential. This group of PWLFs received credentialing from the APWA Donald C. Stone Center for Leadership Excellence in May, 2014, and they will be presented the PWLF designation at an Award Ceremony at the APWA 2014 International Public Works Congress & Expo in Toronto, Canada during August 17-20, 2014.

There are currently 267 APWA PWLFs who provide one-on-one mentoring for aspiring public works leaders enrolled in three of APWA’s Leadership and Management professional development programs, including Public Works Executive (PWE), Public Works Manager (PWM), and the Public Works Supervisor (PWS).

“Each of the PWLFs has received the APWA service designation, which recognizes the highest level of commitment to the public works profession. Each member of this highly experienced group has pledged to assist those who aspire to become public works directors, executives, managers, and supervisors through a focused mentoring program. The PWLF is a senior executive service designation from APWA’s Donald C. Stone Center,” said APWA Executive Director, Peter B. King.

Named for Donald C. Stone, a pioneer of public administration who founded APWA in 1937, APWA’s Donald C. Stone Center currently offers a progressive career path in Leadership and Management.

The recent group of 2014 Public Works Leadership Fellows includes:

Frederick Russell, PE
Director of Water & Sewer
Brookline, MA

Eric Pethtel, CPM
Public Works Director
Fishers, IN

Gregory Robertson, PE, CFM
Chief Public Works Officer
Missoula, MT

Michael Throne, PE
Director of Public Works
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA

For more information about APWA’s Donald C. Stone Center Leadership Fellows program, please contact Mabel Tinjacá, Ph.D., Director of Professional Development at mtinjaca@apwa.net, or visit the Center’s website at www.apwa.net/dcs.