For the fourth time in the competition's 15-year history, a team of North Dakota State University (NDSU) civil engineering students won the annual National Steel Bridge Competition.

NDSU is the only school to win the competition more than once, having championed in 1995, 2002, and 2004. Second and third place went to SUNY College of Technology-Canton and University of Wisconsin-Madison, respectively.

All seven students of the winning team are members of the American Society of Civil Engineers' (ASCE) NDSU chapter.

The competition featured 45 teams from universities nationwide. The teams were required to construct a scale-model bridge that could carry a load of 2500 pounds. The bridges were judged in six categories: construction speed, aesthetics, economy, lightness, stiffness, and efficiency.

The American Institute of Steel Construction sponsors the annual competition; co-sponsors include the ASCE, the American Iron and Steel Institute, the National Steel Bridge Alliance, the James F. Lincoln Arc Welding Foundation, and Nucor Corporation. For more information, visit