Washington D.C.'s Metro has 91 stations, has the second highest ridership to only New York, yet still incorporates Harry Weese's 1976 design for the original five stations. This commitment to the design earned D.C. Metro the American Institute of Architects 25 Year Award in 2014.

Weese designed the D.C. metro stations after a tour of the world's mass transit systems. This led him to decide that the stations needed to be "grand in scale and needed to invoke the monumental civic architecture of federal Washington":

The architect created a design kit-of-parts that has been implemented throughout all the stations in the system, even those completed after Weese's death in 1998. (The most recent station opened in 2004, and more on the new Silver line are slated to open this year.)

Read More