The American Public Works Association (APWA) has announced the Public Works Projects of the Year awards that promote excellence in the management and administration of public works projects. The APWA Project of the Year Award recognizes the alliance between the managing agency, the contractor, the consultant, and their cooperative achievements. This year’s award winners will be recognized during APWA’s International Public Works Congress & Exposition Awards Ceremony, which takes place during August 17-20th, 2014 in Toronto, Ontario, Canada at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre.

The APWA Public Works Projects of the Year awards are presented annually and this year, APWA selected projects in five categories: Disaster/Emergency, Environment, Historical Restoration, Structures, and Transportation. Also this year’s APWA Awards includes the Projects of the Year Award for Small Cities/Rural Communities. The SC/RC Projects of the Year award is for agencies from cities and counties with a population of 75,000 or less, and was established to promote excellences in demonstrating creativity, ingenuity, and efficiency in the delivery of public works projects that have a profound impact on the community.

The winners of the 2014 Public Works Projects of the Year Award are:

Disaster or Emergency Construction/Repair
<$5 million: Inner Basin Water Supply Pipeline Reconstruction
<$5 million: Mathews Bridge Emergency Repairs
$5 million–$25 million: Haines Road Reconstruction
$25 million–$75 million: Paramount Theatre Restoration

<$5 million: Sheboygan River Area of Concern Habitat Restoration
$5 million–$25 million: Keswick Water Pollution Control Plant Outfall Expansion Project
$5 million–$25 million: Lower Beacon Street Sewer Separation
$25 million–$75 million: Alewife Stormwater Wetland
>$75 million: Sunol Valley Water Treatment Plant Expansion and Treated Water Reservoir

Historical Restoration/Preservation
<$5 million: Rehabilitation of the Centerway Arch Bridge
$5 million–$25 million: 1891 Pinal County Courthouse Restoration and Rehabilitation

<$5 million: Depot Avenue Rail-Trail Pedestrian Bridge
$5 million–$25 million: Madison, Wisconsin, Central Public Library
$25 million–$75 million: Tongva Park & Ken Genser Square
>$75 million: West Haven Station

<$5 million: Cascade Avenue Reconstruction Project
<$5 million: Sweet Creek Road Retaining Wall Replacement
$5 million–$25 million: Diverging Diamond Interchange at I-494 & 34th Avenue South
$25 million–$75 million: Sonoran Boulevard 15th Avenue to Cave Creek Road
>$75 million: Tom Lantos Tunnels
>$75 million: VivaNext Highway 7 East Rapidway

Small Cities/Rural Communities Projects of the Year:

Disaster/Emergency: Crestmoor Neighborhood Reconstruction
Environment: Enhancing Emybayment Water Quality
Structures: City of Coconut Creek New Public Works Administration Building
Transportation: Busse Woods Pedestrian Overpass at Illinois Route 72

A photo gallery of all the winners is now up on the APWA website.