Twenty-five mayors from around the world are vying to be the next “World Mayor.” Every two years the nonprofit City Mayors Foundation holds the contest to award a mayor who has made outstanding contributions to his or her community and has the vision, passion, and skills to make their city an “incredible” place to live in, work in, and visit.

Nominations were accepted until mid-May. Now anyone can vote for whichever finalist they think should win the World Mayor Prize. This isn't a popularity contest: the foundation's board of fellows will choose the winner and two runners-up based on the number of votes and the strength and passion of supporting voter comments. So voters are encouraged to explain why they think their choice is the best. Voting ends in mid-October, and the winner and runners-up will be announced in early December.

North American finalists are:

  • Regis Lebeaume, Quebec City
  • Stephanie Rawlings-Blake, Baltimore
  • John F. Cook, El Paso, Texas
  • R.T. Rybak, Minneapolis
  • Cory Booker, Newark, N.J.

Learn more about the candidates and to cast your vote.